Ministry of Sound – Chilled Afterhours 2011

Nabbed myself a copy of this last night and started listening to it and I gotta say, I quite like what I’m hearing. It’s a bit different to my usual postings but I’ve been after something more easy listening for the times you want to unwind.

Chillout Afterhours 2011

Ministry of sound describes the compilation as:

Ministry of Sound continue explore the softer side of music by releasing the latest edition in the Chilled series. Afterhours is an alternative take on previous albums combining a mixture of genres & introducing new artists to create a brand new laidback listening experience.

It’s a bit different to the regular chillout sessions that the Ministry of Sound bring out every year, so give it a shot if you find that a bit too slow. The 3 CD compilation has a different sound and vibe per disc so you could probably find something more suitable to your tastes. My personal perception of the music on the compilation would be somewhat like a modern electronic equivalent of Jazz.

Favourite song so far (aside from ‘To Build a Home’ by The Cinematic Orchestra) would be ‘Pictures’ by Benjamin Francis Leftwich.

Tracklist below:

01. I’ll Take Care Of U by Gil Scott-Heron and Jamie xx-4:42
02. Where You Should Be Feat. Sam Frank (Edit) by Skream-1:49
03. Rolling In The Deep (Jamie xx Shuffle) by Adele-4:17
04. Finish Line (Radio Edit) by Yasmin-3:59
05. Getting Nowhere by Magnetic Man featuring John Legend-4:30
06. I Love You So by Cassius-3:42
07. History (Love Mix) by Groove Armada-3:42
08. Last Ones Standing (Ed Sheeran Remix) by Example-2:56
09. Lovers’ Carvings by Bibio-3:52
10. Never Stop (Radio Edit) by Chilly Gonzales-2:58
11. Hawaii (Niva Mix) by Blackbird Blackbird-4:04
12. Do You Believe? by Poolside-4:33
13. Above The Clouds by Aeroplane-7:43
14. Nice Girls (Little Loud Remix) by Health-4:24
15. Berlin (Dr. Rosen Rosen Remix) by Alaska In Winter-4:45
16. Valentine by Jesse Ware featuring Sampha-2:08
17. Carbonated by Mount Kimbie-4:18
18. Another Girl by Jacques Greene-6:42
19. Solidify by Subeena featuring Om’Mas Keith and Jamie Woon-5:31
20. Eyesdown (Floating Points Remix) by Bonobo Featuring Andreya Triana-4:17
21. To Build A Home (Instrumental) by The Cinematic Orchestra-6:05
22. Pictures by Benjamin Francis Leftwich-2:57
23. Lotus Flower by Radiohead-4:03
24. My Girls by Animal Collective-5:43
25. Wonderful Life (Radio Edit) by Hurts-3:36
26. Norway by Beach House-4:05
27. No Way Down by Air France -3:59
28. Congratulations (Erol Alkan Remix) by MGMT-6:37
29. This Sweet Love (Prins Thomas Edit) by James Yuill-7:10
30. Drop (Kings of Convenience ‘TusenTakk’ Rework) by CORNELIUS-4:06
31. Imitosis (Four Tet Remix) by Andrew Bird- 5:19
32. The Islands by FETE-4:27
33. White Sky (Cecile Remix) by Vampire Weekend-6:41
34. Icarus by White Hinterland-3:46
35. I’m In Your Church At Night by Active Child- 4:34
36. The Losing Love by Kneel Mason-3:09
37. Tomorrow by Jono McCleery-2:43
38. So Easy by Petter & The Pix-4:42
39. Finish Your Collapse And Stay For Breakfast by Broken Social Scene-1:24
40. Desire Lines by Meanderthals-6:27
41. Higher Than The Sun by Primal Scream-3:23
42. High Noon by Kruder featuring Dorfmeister-6:21
43. Solar Sistim by Underworld-6:26
44. Sparks by Royksopp-5:25
45. In A Heartbeat by Koop-5:10
46. Bohemian Sunset (Short Edit) by Jazzanova-6:50
47. Heroine by Freddie Cruger featuring Anthony Mills-3:49
48. You Wish by Nightmares On Wax-3:30
49. All That You Give by The Cinematic Orchestra- 6:10
50. Slowly (Mister Long Remix) by Max Sedgley-4:28
51. Sail by Aim-5:14
52. Until The Morning by Thievery Corporation-3:56
53. Autumn Leaves (Irresistible Force mix) by Coldcut-3:23
54. So Long by Mr. Scruff-4:13
55. Peanut Dreams by Grand National-3:15
56. Every Day A Story by Fragile State-5:38
57. New Light Of Tomorrow (Bonobo Remix) by Husky Rescue-5:21
58. Spiders by Kerrigan-3:26
59. Central Reservation (The Then Again Version) by Beth Orton-4:01
60. Woozy With Cider by James Yorkston-4:05

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *